Consume, consume, consume.

We as Millennials have been fed the idea that advances in technology is a sign that society is progressing. Consequently, more technology means society consumes more media. This begs the question: does consuming more media help or hurt society as a whole? On one hand, society should certainly be educated on current events and understand what is going on in the world. On the other hand, we should refrain from being fed biased views or slanted opinions that influence the way we think.

With the rise of technology, I do believe that our society consumes too much media, except I don’t think it’s our fault. Technology makes media so available that it’s almost hard not to consume. Throwback to my post about my Media Fast. I found it extremely difficult to isolate myself from the influences of media that I passively feel in my everyday life. Imagine how much media I consume actively! CNN posted an article about this very topic saying how teens spend 9 hours a day using media. That’s crazy!

It lends the question: what kind of life are we living if our heads are being filled with the media for 9 hours a day? I wonder if, as Christians, this is something that God has intended for us. I don’t think so. I think God has called us to be in the world but not of the world, and media is very much of the world – it’s a direct product of the world. Therefore, we should engage it and interact with it, but also remain separate from it, understanding its fallen nature. It becomes quite a balancing act that doesn’t have extremely clear guidelines. How much media should we consume? How do we limit ourselves? What is ok for Christians to engage with? This website highlights some ways to consume media that may be helpful to you if you’re struggling with this concept like I am.

Leave a Reply

